Trusteeindex
Flag of France

.fr · France

.fr domain prices by registrar

Paris rooftops and chimneys in summer light, seen from above.

Afnic charges registrars one flat fee, €5.07, for every operation on a .fr: registration, renewal, transfer and restore alike. What registrars add on top varies most where you least expect it.

By the Trusteeindex teamLast updated October 2026About 5 minutes

OVHcloud has the cheapest .fr renewal at €9.35 a year including 20% French VAT (€7.79 excluding it), followed by LWS at €10.79. OVHcloud is also cheapest over five years at €43.38, counting the first year and four renewals in euros including VAT, then LWS at €49.14 and Hostinger and GoDaddy at €52.76. Gandi's renewal of €28.78 is about three times OVHcloud's for the same Afnic record. All figures are as the registrars published them in October 2026.

Registrar prices compared

RegistrarFirst yearRenewalTransferRestoreVATFive-year total
OVHcloud€4.99€7.79€4.59€49.99Excluded€43.38
LWS€4.99 (offer)€8.99€4.99€19.99Excluded€49.14
Hostinger€0.01 (offer, one per customer)€10.99Not publishedNot publishedNot stated€52.76
GoDaddy€0.01 (three-year purchase)€10.99Not publishedNot publishedNot stated€52.76
Netim€7.00 (offer)€12.00€7.50€32.00Excluded€66.00
Namecheap$17.98$20.98Not publishedNot publishedNot stated€109.84
Gandi€7.20€28.78€7.20€30.00 plus renewalIncluded€122.32

Prices per year as published in October 2026. The five-year total is the first year plus four renewals in euros including 20% French VAT, using prices as published where they include VAT, adding 20% where they exclude it or do not say, and converting US dollars at the ECB reference rate of 1.1133 to the euro in October 2026. The table is sorted by five-year total, cheapest first. GoDaddy's €0.01 first year needs a three-year purchase, Hostinger's allows one name per customer, and LWS's €4.99 is limited to its first 1,500 domains. Porkbun and Cloudflare Registrar do not sell .fr. How we collect and recheck prices is in our methodology.

What Afnic charges

€5.07

Afnic's fee per operation in 2026, excluding VAT

€4.56

The fee until March 2024

1 to 10

Years per registration term (Naming Policy, paragraph 46)

30 days

Redemption period after a registrar deletes a name

Under article 2.9 of its Naming Policy, Afnic applies a single fee to every billable operation, and publishes it. For 2026 that is €5.07 excluding VAT per year of registration or renewal, and the same €5.07 for a change of registrar or a restore. Registrars set their own retail prices, and the policy requires them to publish those too.

Redemption and the restore markup

When a registrar deletes a .fr, for example because it was not renewed, the name enters a 30-day redemption period and can be reactivated unchanged by the same registrar. Afnic charges €5.07 for the restore. Registrars charge from €19.99 at LWS to €49.99 at OVHcloud, the same registrar with the lowest renewal on the page. Cheap renewal and cheap restore are not the same registrar, so decide which risk you would rather carry, or turn on auto-renew.

A deletion with no way back

Watch out

No redemption after a failed verification

Paragraph 132 of the Naming Policy gives a redemption period only for deletions a registrar requests. A name Afnic deletes after an unsuccessful eligibility check cannot be restored at any price, and under article 3.2 that deletion covers the holder's whole portfolio. This is why eligibility, not price, is the first question for a .fr.

Who these prices are for

These prices apply to a holder resident or established in the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, the area set by article 5.1 of Afnic's policy. Anyone else is paying for a trustee, compared on the .fr trustees page, or for an eligible entity, costed on the company route page.

Last updated October 2026. Registrar prices change often and offers end. If you spot a price that has moved, email info@trusteeindex.com.